Home > Arts and Entertainment, Spiritual > Is It Art or Just Lighting

Is It Art or Just Lighting

I have been looking for information about Joh Peters and his work on the “Gainsborough Lady”. The below description of his works and descriptions like it are on the internet and on E-Bay. I have yet to come across anything about LAMPS and Joh Peters. I have entered this into my blog in the hopes of getting information about this artist and the types of work he has generated.

Wonderful rendition of the “Gainsborough Lady’ by Joh Peters on Clarice Cliff Royal Staffordshire England China Plate. What a wonderful presentation! the plate is a large 10 3/4 inches and appears to be bordered in a gold trim. There is a mark on the back that appears to be a gold mark.

Plate is in excellent condition. Front picture is signed: Gainsborough by Joh Peters, Amsterdam, Holland. Back is signed Clarice Cliff, Royal Staffordshire, Made in England.

I have many questions and looking forward to someone responding and providing information about this, I think are great works of art.

.
It’s All About You …”

All Goods, All Times, All Season

  1. April 27, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    I always learn something new

  2. robin laton
    June 27, 2010 at 8:52 am

    Charles, I too have been searching for information on Jon Peters and am wondering the same thing as you. Artist or Lamp painter. I have one of his lamps as well and it is beautiful. If you find any info let me know via email address. Thanks, Robin

    • August 8, 2010 at 11:58 pm

      Robin,
      I saw some of his work on E-Bay and could never come across the lamps. Plenty of plates and such. I was just wondering what category these lamps are to be placed in.

  3. edith
    July 3, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    I recently purchased a 4 x 4 inch painted on paper taped over a ceramic or porcelain tile in gold decorative frame marked Japan. It is signed Gainsborough by Jon Peters Amsterdam Holland. It is is a portrait of a lady w/flowing curls wearing a fancy hat with feathers. I believe it is hand painted water colors. Can you give me any insight?

    • July 6, 2011 at 3:28 pm

      Edith, I am very interested in knowing more Mr. Jon Peters, myself and I have seen decorative frames and plates by the gentleman and only have the lamps in my possession. It’s really great workmanship. If you can supply me with some pictures of your piece I would love to look into it.

      Charles

  4. Becky
    January 12, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    I too have twin lamps any info would be greatly appreciated. For example who is Joh Peters, who is the Gainsburogh Lady? and any other info. Please email Thank you.

  5. April 23, 2012 at 2:22 pm

    I also have this lamp and just think it is a beauty. Does anyone know if they are old or just repros. I have been researching to try and find info.?

  6. Christine
    May 24, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    I have a set of green/ gold Gainsburough lamps that are signed in the portrait by Joh Peters. Trying to find out if they are replicas or originals.

  7. Leota
    February 14, 2013 at 4:40 pm

    I have a lamp of the Gainsborough Lady and it belonged to my Grandpa from the 40’s. I would like to have more info on it. Thank you

  8. Lou
    July 20, 2013 at 4:36 pm

    I have two(2) 4 inch x 4 inch Water Colors Paintings of The Gainsborough Lady & The Cavanaugh Lady in a Gold Decorative Frame by Joh Peters of Amsterdam, Holland in Very Good condition. Please advise me of their Value. Thank You.

  9. David C
    June 5, 2016 at 6:17 pm

    I am about to list an original uncut sheet of some of his (Jon Peters) works in the form of water slide decals on Ebay. I’m not sure what they are worth but it will be interesting to see what they go for….autodream33 is my ID on Ebay.
    I tried researching him and came up with only plates, lamps and urns of all things that his work is on.
    These waterslides are named Gainsborough…there is 70 decals on the one sheet.

    In my research I found this blog so I just thought I would let you know what I was going to be putting up for sale in the next few minutes. It’s different, that’s for sure.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

