Home > Arts and Entertainment, Bi-Partisanship, Biblical, Ethnic, Newark, Spiritual > Imagery and Me…. Who buys into the images we see?

Imagery and Me…. Who buys into the images we see?

I originally planned this entry to focus on how some TV shows can tend to show the negative side of people; primarily, and how it’s a shame that responsible journalism exploits these issues.  I have also tried in vain to get others to understand a concept I hold and it’s simply – the “State” of default. Default was to be defined, in this piece, as the state of perceiving and being accustomed to accepting a conditions as the norm.  I will hold on to that idea and move on to my Image of the Tavist Smiley and Rev. Al Sharpton misunderstanding.

When I first heard Tavist Smiley’s response (to Reverend Al Sharpton) regarding what Tavist had said on the Tom Joyner’s show which aired on February 23, 2010 (2/23/10), I had some misgivings about the topic and general way his response went.    

Part 2 of 3 > http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yilCZwefX3s

Part 3 of 3>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ujfkmxwsISw

I felt he wasn’t standing by his convictions and his reply was disingenuous.   Much of the conversation centered around the word “Ballyhoo” and I felt that Mr. Smiley had a different definition – Ballyhoo defined as follows:

  1. Sensational or clamorous advertising or publicity.
  2. Noisy shouting or uproar.

I agree with Reverend Al and the reporter that inferred that the Presidency would be better served by not sensationalizing and noisily advertising his stance on a “Black Agenda”.  It’s the responsibility of those whose advocacies mandate that such an agenda be heard, and thus take it to the president and have him address the issue(s).  Our leaders in the past took the agenda into the White House and had the merits of which heard and dealt with.  The same goes for President Obama and his hearing and addressing any and all issues presented, not as a “Black” president but as the leader of a “Free” world, a Democratic Republic.

Mr. Smiley, himself being a journalist should know not to take what is written in our media as what was really said.  It’s been too many times that people in the public eye and their words have been miscategorized and misrepresented.  What would come back to us, the reading and listening public, would be their spin on an issue and their mess in the mix.  I should always measure the words presented to me and the source from whence it came very carefully.  It’s the medias job to get people to read the diatribes of others and whatever imagery they need to accomplish the task is what they will use.  Once it gets to me I am left with visuals created by my limited insight (as I was not there at the time) and based on that information – I am sure to be wrong most of the time – because of how that information was given.

I was sure ACORN was the despicable scum I saw on the major networks.  That video of them advising the “Pimp” and the “Whore” were very damning, indeed.  I just knew that what I saw was true; fair and balanced, so to speak.  If I listened and believed that the majority of people on welfare were comprised of the minorities of this country, I would be wrong.  It is fact that the majority have indeed a vast number of welfare recipients.  It’s a common misnomer that is spread through the media and never do I see them spread news dispelling these assertions as lies, as they are.  I get to hear the news as they want me to hear and understand it.

Thus I am left with Imagery and me?

Judging Others

Though it is human to evaluate people we encounter based on first
impressions, the conclusions we come to are seldom unaffected by our own
fears and our own preconceptions. Additionally, our judgments are
frequently incomplete. For example, wealth can seem like proof that an
individual is spoiled, and poverty can be seen as a signifier of
laziness–neither of which may be true. At the heart of the tendency to
categorize and criticize, we often find insecurity. Overcoming our need
to set ourselves apart from what we fear is a matter of understanding
the root of judgment and then reaffirming our commitment to tolerance.
When we catch ourselves thinking or behaving judgmentally, we should ask
ourselves where these judgments come from. Traits we hope we do not
possess can instigate our criticism when we see them in others because
passing judgment distances us from those traits. Once we regain our
center, we can reinforce our open-mindedness by putting our feelings
into words. To acknowledge to ourselves that we have judged, and that we
have identified the root of our judgments, is the first step to a path
of compassion. Recognizing that we limit our awareness by assessing
others critically can make moving past our initial impressions much easier.
Judgments seldom leave room for alternate possibilities. Mother Teresa
said, “If you judge people, you don’t have time to love them.” If
we are quick to pass judgment on others, we forget that they, like us,
are human beings. As we seldom know what roads people have traveled
before a shared encounter or why they have come into our lives, we
should always give those we meet the gift of an open heart. Doing so
allows us to replace fear-based criticism with appreciation because we
can then focus wholeheartedly on the spark of good that burns in all
human souls. –
Author Unknown

Learning for the sake of learning releases me from the burden of Absoluteness that my carnal spirit has a tendency to strive for.  I seem to find comfort in knowing or the sheer thought of knowing.

Understanding that the road not yet traveled by me really doesn’t have any bumps in the path or even turns until I embark upon it.  I then have to ask: “Should I always lean solely upon my own understanding?”  Or is a greater base; people I know and fellowship with, the highest point to my freedom and the quickest path to an understanding.

For more information on any of our services and products contact me at your earliest convenience (201) 293-3661

Get Excellent Web Hosting With Easy WordPress Installation with StartLogic

“It’s All About You …”

All Goods, All Times, All Season

  1. April 24, 2010 at 9:29 am

    Just wanted to let you know that your blog is not showing up properly on the BlackBerry Browser. Anyway, I’m now on the RSS feed on my laptop, so it shows!

  2. April 24, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Apple now has Rhapsody as an app, which is a great start, but it is currently hampered by the inability to store locally on your iPod, and has a dismal 64kbps bit rate. If this changes, then it will somewhat negate this advantage for the Zune, but the 10 songs per month will still be a big plus in Zune Pass’ favor.

  3. April 27, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Its the 1st time i am on your site and i would like to congratulate you for the big effort you are doing to write such excellent posts.

  4. April 28, 2010 at 5:35 am

    Immer wieder taucht die Frage auf, wie sich SSI in WordPress einbinden läßt ohne sich großartig z.B. in die PHP-Programmierung einarbeiten zu müssen

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

