Home > Internet, New Jersey, Newark, VoIP Telephony > Don’t We Wanna Know?

Don’t We Wanna Know?

I am not sure what you see when someone calls your phone, but nowadays its anyones guess.  Caller ID was always supposed to let you know who is on the line before you picked up.   We are in need of safeguards and a FCC that is truly concerned with how we, the consumer, are treated.  Don’t we need to know; and isn’t caller ID just part of what we’re paying for when we sign up for service?  “… By tightening up Caller ID rules, the Commission can put a stop to  unscrupulous Caller ID practices such as spoofing, or ‘fraud,'” said Bill Hegmann, NECA President and CEO

Caller ID spoofing is the practice of causing the telephone network to display a number on the recipient’s Caller IDdisplay which is not that of the actual originating station. The term is commonly used to describe situations in which the motivation is considered malicious by the speaker or writer. Just as e-mail spoofing can make it appear that a message came from any e-mail address the sender chooses, Caller ID spoofing can make a call appear to have come from any phone number the caller wishes. Because of the high trust people tend to have in the Caller ID system, spoofing can call the system’s value into question. –

With the popularity of “Video” phones, and their wide-spread use ,safeguards are now necessary devices to prevent problematic practices resulting from these unscrupulous parties.  “All voice service providers, regardless of technology used, should ensure that calls going over their networks have the correct identifying information,” said Kelly Worthington, WTA’s Executive Vice-President. “Consumers and carriers alike will benefit from the reforms the Associations advocate.” “This is a chance for the FCC to put in place a win-win for consumers and for companies. Both consumers and companies would benefit from Caller ID rule changes that help reduce confusion and fraud,” stated ERTA Executive Director Carole Woodward

Rural Telecom Associations Support FCC Proposed Truth in Caller ID Rules

The associations urge the Commission to: Require carriers and other voice service providers to send correct Calling Party Number CPN information. The Associations encourage the Commission to be consistent in its rules and apply these rules as broadly as possible to all voice service providers.Include additional signaling requirements in the Caller ID rules and call signaling rules, including information transmitted in the SS7 Jurisdiction Information Parameter JIP, and specifically requiring that providers of commercial mobile radio service CMRS and VoIP services populate the JIP in signaling data.

via Rural Telecom Associations Support FCC Proposed Truth in Caller ID Rules.

We need to be protected and it’s a great practice for all carriers to ensure that who is calling is really who is calling.  The phone has been a tool and not a toy and what has happened in the past is that people and firms have regarded the use of it as a right.  Just like a driver’s license – it’s a privilege and could be taken away when it has been abused – so should the telephone be considered.  There are remedies and this video seems to offer a great way to handle a “NUISANCE”

Also check out http://www.wired.com/threatlevel/2009/02/trapcall/ and see how not getting in on something very good can cost you much in the long run.

Seayson Enterprise is an independent representative of MaHarris and Company. For more information on any of our services and products contact me at your earliest convenience (973) 689-9995

Get Excellent Web Hosting With Startlogic

Easy WordPress Installation with StartLogic

It’s All About You …

  1. April 25, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    Well that is just very scary! I have always been a rebel at heart, and am no different when it comes to the use of my cell phone. I only give my number out to relatives and a few close friends and I have special ring tones for each of them. While I use my cell phone often to return business calls, I keep my number blocked. I have an answering service I regularly check for messages and return calls daily – my clients know this, and trust me to be responsive to their needs. I understand this may not work for some people, but personally I never want to work or live in a situation where I have to available to the world 24/7.

    • April 25, 2011 at 5:16 pm

      Marquita, thanks for stopping by. It’s sad that we would have to go through so many extremes in order to enjoy our peace of mind. But we do what is necessary to insure the safety of the things we hold dear. But with technology that is available to us, keeping your “Number” blocked might not be blocking it at all. Hopefully you were able to see the other video.

      Charles

  2. April 25, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    Hey Charles,

    This is a great post. For me I handle this by not answering incoming calls and letting them go to voice mail, unless I am expecting a call from a certain person. Doing this helps me to organize my time and be more effective. And if it is a prospect calling, then I will not be on the call cold with them and can check their message and prepare to call them back.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Make it a great day!
    God Bless,
    The GREAT Edward!

    • April 28, 2011 at 2:08 pm

      Thanks Edward,

      It seems the more we are online networking and putting our information out there the more calls I get from someone wanting “Chance” to connect and sell me something. Many times when I do get that call, I use the opportunity to “practice” and get my information to them. Turning the Script. Nowadays, it would seem we need to use tools to “filter” out those and other unwanted calls.

      Thanks for stopping by

  3. April 28, 2011 at 2:10 am

    Hi Charles,
    Why do people want to do this stuff. I don’t get it. I guess people just don’t care how they make a living. I never thought there was a way to change up your caller ID info but now I know. Thanks for the post. People need to see whats going on and how to take protective measures to not get ripped off. Let’s see what the FCC does about this.

    Rick Salas

    • May 13, 2011 at 11:29 pm

      Thanks Rick,
      I just hope that the FCC is much stronger in regulating things than the FDA. Too much interest in smaller issues as opposed to the larger ones.

      Charles

  4. April 28, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    🙂 Thanks Rick,
    I agree that people need to see this and more information that is being put out there on the WWW. It was alarming when I found out about it. The rules have to be the same for all of us, not some us. We have to band together and show the masses that “Network Marketers” are not all the same. Then, and only then, can we really put an end to the way people look at our chosen industry and not equate us with other dreadful practices.

    Charles

  5. April 29, 2011 at 10:53 am

    Charles, where are we going in this world. Here in Belgium we had this same problem by attacking the phonenumbers of VIP’s and it is crazy. If I see this than it is scarry. How can we protect ourselves to criminals and hackers.
    Good topic and gives important information.
    Thanks and keep up the good work,
    cheers…mario…

    • May 13, 2011 at 11:31 pm

      Hello Mario,

      Forgive me for taking so long in responding – Major Things have happened in my world. That vote of encouragement is taking me a long way. Let’s keep in touch.

      Charles

  6. April 29, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    I wish there were a way to do this on my home and home office numbers. I get all sorts of calls all the time and I’m supposed to be on the National Do Not Call registry. HA, what a joke that is. Do you know anyone who has ever bought anything from a phone solicitation? Me neither. RICK

    • May 13, 2011 at 11:36 pm

      Hello Rick,
      I have been swamped these last couple of weeks and I would like to add that there are solutions and the phone system I use has some great features to it. I feel that cold calls are supposed to just give me an opportunity to introduce myself and ask if it’s OK to keep in touch. It’s not the time to sell, but the time to tell.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Charles

  7. Mandy Swift
    May 8, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    Hi Charles, thanks for alerting my attention to the fact that my calls may not always be from who I think they are. I didn’t know that. That is scary. I do what Edward does. Most times if I don’t recognise the number, I let it run to voicemail so that I can check and see whether or not I actually want to speak to that person!
    Thanks for the post 🙂

    • May 13, 2011 at 11:41 pm

      Hello Mandy,

      I do the same and I have come to be convinced that that isn’t a great idea either. I can use a service like “Google Voice” in conjunction with my regular phone in order to have an edge on the solicitors and their slickness.

      Thanks for reading,

      Charles

  8. June 6, 2011 at 9:00 am

    Hi Charles, what a topic… Many people can add their own story to this issue and I’m sure even with stronger regulations the nuisance caller (organisation) will find a way around it. Hence it is important to hear and read which stories are going round and how to protect oneselves. I do it like Edward was mentioning… If I don’t know a number I keep it ringing and pickup a message in case one was passed on. Thx and all the best, Alex

  9. June 18, 2011 at 10:56 am

    Hello Alexander,
    Having a way to combat these nuisances is going to get even more sophisticated as the perpetrators get better technology. I use different methods and as time goes on it will get better.

  10. June 18, 2011 at 11:30 am

    Hello Alex,
    I try and use a method that helps eliminate the nuisancees. But they get wiser and wiser as well.

    Charles

  11. CJ Priestley
    July 12, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    It really is amazing what lengths some people will go through to scam someone else, although few uses come to mind where this would be helpful to a consumer, for instance someone who is checking on a debt with a company and they don’t necessarily want to give out their own number for fear of harassment from that company, other than that I can’t really see any other uses.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

